Transportation Task Force Meets in Jefferson City

JEFFERSON CITY — The first meeting of the “21st Century Missouri Transportation System Task Force” was from 1-3 p.m. on Wednesday, June 28, in House Hearing Room 3 at the Capitol in Jefferson City. The task force was created during this year’s legislative session with the passage of House Concurrent Resolution 47 sponsored by Rep. Kevin Corlew (R-Kansas City).

The task force was created to evaluate the current condition of the state’s transportation system and funding levels and to make recom-mendations.

Corlew is the task force chair and Sen. Dave Schatz (R-Sullivan) is vice chair. The panel includes five members of the House of Represen-tatives, five members of the Senate, the governor or his designee, the director of economic development or his designee, the superintendent of the highway patrol or her designee, and nine Missouri residents or representatives from non-governmental organizations within the state.

The 23-person group also includes MoDOT Director Patrick McKenna who gave a transportation funding overview at the initial meeting.

Future monthly meetings will be held in locations across the state to be determined. At each session, an hour will be devoted to public testimony.


House: Kevin Corlew (R-Kansas City), Bill Reiboldt (R-Joplin), Nate Tate (R-St. Clair), Joe Runions (D-Kansas City), Greg Razor (R-Kansas City);

Senate: Dave Schatz (R-Sullivan), Bill Eigel (R-Cottleville), Caleb Rowden (R-Columbia), Ki Ki Curls (D-Kansas City), Jake Hummel (D-St. Louis);

Executive Branch: Patrick McKenna, MoDOT; Pat Dixon, Department of Economic Develop-ment (or designee); Col. Sandra Karsten, Department of Public Safety (or designee); Will Scharf, Governor’s office designee.

Private Sector:

– Gretchen Ivy, HNTB, Kansas City (House Speaker’s appointee);

Steve Halter, Poplar Bluff Chamber of Commerce (House Speaker’s appointee);

Gwen Moore, citizen, (House Minority Leader’s appointee);

Rudy Farmer, former member Missouri Highways and Transpor-tation Commission, Neosho (Senate President Pro-Tem’s appointee);

Dale Williams, Missouri Asphalt Pavement Association, Jefferson City (Senate President Pro-Tem’s appointee);

Mayor Tom Schneider, Florissant; (Senate Minority Leader’s appoin-tee);

David Hogan, Hogan Transpor-tation and Logistics, St. Louis (Governor’s appointee);

Craig Porter, Porters Building Centers, Mosby (Governor’s appoin-tee);

Michael Pace, Chair of Missouri Highways and Transportation Com-mission, West Plains (Governor’s appointee).