Douglas/Ozark Counties Missouri Retired Teachers Association Annual Meeting

The Douglas and Ozark Counties unit of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association and Public School Personnel hosted the 2013 Annual Meeting of the Region 10 MRTA at the Community Center in Ozark, Missouri, Friday, October 18 with the theme, “Moving Forward, Side by Side.”

Marie Bristol gave the welcome and led the pledge of allegiance. Norma Stillings led the singing of the theme song, “Side by Side” and gave a brief explanation of how that song describes the relationship of Douglas and Ozark Counties teachers. The new Region 10 Vice president, Karen Miller did the roll call.

The group heard from MRTA Board President, Marilyn Skipper, MRTF Board President, Walt Cochran, and Forest T. Jones Representative, Tom Wales. They talked about benefits and responsibilities of membership in MRTA.

Barbara Self, out-going Region 10 vice president gave out awards to Christian County RSP, Republic Area RSP, SARTA, South Central RAT, Tri-Lakes RTA, Webster County RT&SPA, and Wright County RTA&OSP in recognition of their being Region 10 Units of Excellence.

Jeannette Erter of Christian County, Sybil Slaughter of Laclede County, Carl Turner Chappell of Springfield, R.A. Pendergrass of South-Central, Kay Honeycutt of Texas County, Barbara Lambert of Tri-Lakes, Freda Gentry of Webster County, and Nancy Smith of Wright County were recognized for being nominated as MRTA Distinguished Retirees.

Ida Mae Huse and Caryl Feiler read the names of MRTA members who had died in the past year. Betty Moore gave the invocation before lunch. Music was provided by the College of the Ozarks Bell Choir under the direction of Marilyn Droke.

MRTA Executive Director, Jim Kreider, spoke to the group stressing the importance of being informed about possible threats to the Public Schools Retirement System and how to be involved in the protection of it. He reminded everyone again that there is strength in numbers.