Nominations Open For Hall of Famous Missourians

JEFFERSON CITY – House Speaker Tim Jones is asking the people of the State of Missouri to assist in deciding the next inductees into the Hall of Famous Missourians.

Jones announced this week that he will accept public input on potential candidates for the Hall, which currently consists of more than 40 bronze busts of famous Missourians such as Harry Truman, Mark Twain, Susan Elizabeth Blow, Walt Disney and Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Jones plans to induct three new members into the Hall in the coming year. He said the public will be empowered to decide two of the inductees while he will determine the third and final selection. Traditionally, the Speaker of the House has had sole discretion over the selection process for the Hall, but Jones said it is time for the people of Missouri to have a say in the process.

“During my time as a member of the Missouri House I have heard from citizens from all around this state who have strong opinions about great Missourians that should be included in the Hall. This is their opportunity to have their voices heard, to help us recognize the outstanding individuals who have made important and lasting contributions to society, and who truly deserve to join the ranks of the remarkable individuals already enshrined in the Hall of Famous Missourians,” said Jones, R-Eureka.

Jones said Missourians will be able to nominate individuals for inclusion in the Hall through an online form located at the official site of the Missouri House of Representatives ( gov).

Jones will accept nominations for a period of 30 days and will formulate a “Top 10” list based on the results and other important criteria as recommended by nonpartisan staff of the Missouri House. Visitors to the site will then have the opportunity to cast their votes for the final 10 nominees with the two highest vote getters being selected for induction into the Hall of Famous Missourians.

To visit the Hall of Famous Missourians inductee nomination page directly, please visit

Suggestions will be accepted until Friday, Sept. 13. Voting will conclude Sunday, Oct. 13.